Content

Managing folder members

Adding members to a folder

To add/invite new members to a folder:

  1. Click on the folder in question.
  2. Click on the Members tab in the panel which opened up to the right of the main window.
  3. Click on Invite.
  4. Enter the IdM-username or the e-mail address of the person to invite. Furthermore you can select the permission the invitee should have on the selected folder. Click on Next to continue.
    Faubox_EN_Managing Folder Members

    (Info) When adding more than one person, please click on the icon Invite-Iconnext to the e-mail box to add the current e-mail address to a list.

  5. (Haken) Done. The folder will now show up in the client of the user(s) you’ve just invited. Additionally they will receive an e-mail notification about this, including instructions how to get and install the client, if they don’t have a client installed yet.

Removing members from a folder

To remove members from an existing folder:

  1. Click on the folder in question.
  2. Click on the Members tab in the window which opened up to the right of the main window.
  3. Click on the Permission of the member you want to remove and set it to No Access.
  4. (Haken) Done. Once you selected No Access from the drop-down box, the member will disappear from the overview.

Changing permissions on a folder

To change a permission for an existing member of a folder:

  1. Click on the folder in question.
  2. Click on the Members tab in the window which opened up to the right of the main window.
  3. Click on the Permission of the member and select the desired access level to your desired permission.
  4. (Haken) Done. Once you selected the desired permission for a specific member it will be propagated to the server and other clients.

Available permissions

Permissions are applied to users, not devices. Please see the list below for available permissions.

Permission Description
Remove Member Removes all permissions from the target user. The user account will disappear automatically after a few seconds, if this permission has been assigned.
Read Grants only read permissions to the target user. The user will be able to place files in his a synced folder, however it will not be synced to other clients and deleted instead.
Read/Write Grants read and write permissions to the target user. Files or directories which are being placed in a synced folder by that user will be transferred to all other members of the folder.
Admin Grants read, write and invite permissions. Files and directories which are being placed in a synced folder by that user will be transferred to all other members of the folder. Furthermore the user will be able to invite new members to the folder.
Owner Grants owner permissions. The user can do everything with a folder. Furthermore the size of the folder will be counted on the quota of this member on the cloud servers. A folder can only have one owner, therefore on assignment the owner permission will be revoked from the original owner.

Default Permission

(Info) The default permission is set on Read/Write, though as owner of a folder you can change the permission of a member anytime.