Content

Managing folder permissions

When sharing a folder with other users, it is possible to define certain permissions. This will control what the invited person can do with a folder.

Permissions are applied to users, not devices. Please see the list below for available permissions.

Permission Permission Desription
Read Grants only read permissions to the target user. The user will be able to place files in his synced folder, however it will not be synced to other clients and deleted instead.
Read and Write Grants read and write permissions to the target user. Files or directories which are being placed in a synced folder by that user will be transferred to all other members of the folder.
Can administrate Grants read, write and invite permissions. Files and directories which are being placed in a synced folder by that user will be transferred to all other members of the folder. Furthermore the user will be able to invite new members to the folder.
Owner Grants owner permissions. The user can do everything with a folder. Furthermore the size of the folder will be counted on the quota of this member on the cloud servers. A folder can only have one owner, therefore on assignment the owner permission will be revoked from the original owner.

To change permissions on a folder:

  1. Click on Folders.
  2. Click on the Member Description of the folder you want to manage the permissions for.
  3. Change the permission for a member of the folder by clicking on the permission itself and selecting a new one from the drop-down box.

To remove permissions on a folder:

  1. Click on Folders.
  2. Click on the Member Description of the folder you want to manage the permissions for.
  3. The member and his permission can be removed from the folder by simply clicking on Remove.