Content

Managing folder permissions

When sharing a folder with other users, it is possible to define certain permissions. It will control what the invited person can do with a folder.

Managing folder permissions

Available permissions

Permissions are applied to users, not devices. Please see the list below for available permissions.

No access Removes all permissions from the target user. The user account will disappear automatically after a few seconds, if this permission has been assigned.
Read Grants only read permissions to the target user. The user will be able to place files in his synced folder, however it will not be synced to other clients and deleted instead.
Read and Write Grants read and write permissions to the target user. Files or directories which are being placed in a synced folder by that user will be transferred to all other members of the folder.
Admin Grants read, write and invite permissions. Files and directories which are being placed in a synced folder by that user will be transferred to all other members of the folder. Furthermore the user will be able to invite new members to the folder.
Owner Grants owner permissions. The user can do everything with a folder. Furthermore the size of the folder will be counted on the quota of this member on the cloud servers. A folder can only have one owner, therefore on assignment the owner permission will be revoked from the original owner.

To change permissions on a folder:

  1. Click on Folders.
  2. Click on the folder you want to manage permissions for.
  3. Click on Manage Members icon .
  4. Change the permission for a member of the folder by clicking on the permission itself and selecting a new one from the drop-down box.

To remove permissions on a folder:

  1. Click on Folders.
  2. Click on the folder you want to manage permissions for.
  3. Click on Manage Members icon .
  4. Permission and member can be removed by simply clicking on .